Mercury Rising 鳯女

Politics, life, and other things that matter

A Note For My Fellow Cyclists

Posted by Phoenix Woman on April 18, 2010

I was tootling home on Wheelock Parkway, riding my bike at my standard slowpoke pace, when a pack of male spandex apostles zipped by me as I approached the intersection with Arlington; they then turned right down Arlington, right in front of me, chatting amongst themselves but without a word to the middle-aged female person they’d nearly run down.

These were the sort of folks who used to be called “road weenies” back in the 1980s, but actual road weenies would have known to say “on your left” before contemptuously passing the untermensch on the bike in front of them. The current version doesn’t notice you enough to consider you anything as advanced as an untermensch; you’re just this slow-moving obstruction to get around.

Now, granted, I should have been checking my rear-view mirror more frequently, so I could have seen them in time to have slowed down enough to have allowed them to pass me safely en masse. But it would have been nice if the leader of the club ride had sung out “On your left!” or even dinged a bike-bell.

And then they wonder why a lot of motorists hate us.

3 Responses to “A Note For My Fellow Cyclists”

  1. Charles II said

    I can see you shaking a cane at them and growling, “Young whippersnappers!” ;-)

  2. Sandy said

    I live in the area and travel on Wheelock every day. I am sorry to report that most bicyclists I observe do not obey traffic signs or signals. It is my pet peeve and I always give them a shout out to obey the rules of the road. I don’t know why I bother, they just ignore me, but maybe if enough people speak up they will be so embarassed that they might actually change.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
