Mercury Rising 鳯女

Politics, life, and other things that matter

Wonders of the World

Posted by Charles II on September 14, 2013

Eggplant_Harvest

6 Responses to “Wonders of the World”

  1. Nice! Someone’s garden was good to them this year.

  2. jo6pac said

    That’s great, it sure taste better when you do it yourself. Enjoy. I’m just harvesting tomatoes now for sauces.

  3. Gappy said

    That’s a beautiful photo Charles II. I accidentally grew the skinny Japanese eggplant this year……that will teach me to read labels! But they’re just as tasty as any other eggplant even tho I did have to be a little more creative with them. I try to eat clean and healthy all year round but it’s definitely organic in the summer because of the veggie gardens. Baked deep-dish eggplant parmesan last night and finished the left-overs just now!

    • Charles II said

      If one microwaves the eggplant to remove the flesh, Japanese eggplants are identical to other varieties. A recipe I can recommend is what I have been told is called prizhmakh: eggplant, tomatoes, olives, onions, mushrooms, spices to taste and some lamb or beef if desired. Bake as a casserole.

      • Gappy said

        I can try that Charles! I tend to remove the skin only if the eggplant is store bought as it is too bitter. I don’t get that with my garden eggplant. Tomorrow I will try my hand at marinara sauce with fresh tomatoes…..perhaps I’ll throw some eggplant in that!

      • Charles II said

        Gappy, I did some marinara tonight and the eggplant (I would guess the yellow) was kind of bitter. Could probably solve that with honey, but I may try using brine to extract the bitter flavor.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
