Mercury Rising 鳯女

Politics, life, and other things that matter

A Coward’s Crime

Posted by Charles II on November 6, 2013

Paul Taylor, Reuters:

Palestinian leader Yasser Arafat was poisoned to death in 2004 with radioactive polonium, his widow Suha said on Wednesday after receiving the results of Swiss forensic tests on her husband’s corpse.

“We are revealing a real crime, a political assassination,” she told Reuters in Paris.

A team of experts, including from Lausanne University Hospital’s Institute of Radiation Physics, opened Arafat’s grave in the West Bank city of Ramallah last November, and took samples from his body to seek evidence of alleged poisoning.

She {widow Suha Arafat] did not accuse any country or person, and acknowledged that the historic leader of the Palestine Liberation Organization had many enemies.

It’s actually unlikely that Israel committed this crime, since Arafat was an essential component of how Israel repressed the Palestinian population. He was the perfect distraction. But whoever killed Arafat is a coward and a psychopath.

9 Responses to “A Coward’s Crime”

  1. Haven’t read Max Blumenthal’s “Goliath” yet, but I was stunned to learn that it includes allegations that Israel limits the amount of food going into Gaza so as to keep the populace at near starvation levels.

    Now that they’ve dug Arafat up and found his corpse to be toxic, maybe they should grind him up and feed him to the Knesset. They may not be guilty of assassinating Arafat, but they’ve most certainly assassinated human rights in the Middle East.

    • Charles II said

      Well, once again, there’s no evidence as to who murdered Arafat.

      As for the treatment of the Palestinians, it’s much more than an allegation by Blumenthal. See this article in The Guardian. Documents from the Army confirm that causing malnutrition was official policy.

      I recommend Richard ben Cramer’s very balanced How Israel Lost to get a sense for how systematic and calculated the cruelty against the Palestinians is.

      • Thanks for the recommendation. Btw, living in Paul Ryan’s district now. I will honestly be shocked if he gets reelected. I’ve never seen such economic devastation. Kenosha is turning into another East St. Louis and the $10.30 an hour seasonal job I got with a M**tel subsidiary is considered to be one of the best jobs you could ever hope to get (10-hour shifts, a no-sitting on the job policy, unpaid lunch and you work right up until quitting time and yes, I could be fired for posting this comment).

        Walker’s policies are boomeranging, and even simple things like getting a drivers license or plates is nightmarish.

      • Charles II said

        Sorry to hear about the job situation, Mark.

        I did look up the approval for both Walker and Ryan. They are in trouble. Got a good candidate to run against Ryan?

      • Sorry for the slow reply. Don’t do much surfing after work. Ignore the East Asian who’s announced he’s running against Ryan (his dad was killed in that temple shooting by Milwaukee and that appears to be his only qualification). Zerban is running again and I hope he wins. Burke is coming under fire as a DLC go along to get along candidate. A Tami Baldwin style candidate is gearing up to oppose her because people really want a good governor and not just somebody who’s main qualification is not being Walker.

        I can’t judge this area based on my limited exposure to it, but it doesn’t strike me as a hotbed of liberalism. I’ve already encountered two examples of open racism at my place of work (from coworkers, not management). White v Black racism, and Black v Mexican racism.

        I’m not being sarcastic when I say I’ve got a good job. The Antioch area is essentially little more than a food court for Chicagoans vacationing in the lakes area that I live in and minimum wage jobs are the only jobs around here. As for M*****’s policies, they are easily googled and have been the subject of legal debate. They literally seem to believe that anything you create while working for them is their property and I was forced as a condition of employment to sign documentation to that effect. Once it became known I had moved here to write a book, more than one person warned me not to mention that at work because even as a seasonal, no-benefits temp, M***** would assert ownership over my book. [and I would appreciate it if it would be possible to asterisk their name in my previous comment as I forgot I post under my own name here, a bad habit from my years of nose-thumbing self-employment.]

        I replied that if M***** wants to go to court to assert ownership of an SF novel about old people conducting forced inbreeding programs to refine blood lines for purposes of forced blood donations so the old people can be rejuvenated and live forever, well, they were more than welcome to give me that kind of publicity while they sell their toys to parents. I also have three years of time-stamped notes clearly outlining all three books so my prior art is impeccable.

        Just finished my third week. I have already been reprimanded. Accidentally put some paperwork in my pocket and because it was “missing” for twenty minutes I was written up for “horseplay” and intentionally sabotaging production. I objected to the language of the reprimand but had to sign it as I lacked the seniority to fight dismissal for any cause. I was also lectured for complaining on the job. I looked the supervisor and HR person in the eyes and said that I realized I was the fattest person working there and that the “no sitting” rule was a sneaky way of ensuring “fatties” didn’t work at the facility and that I would stop complaining but that the ten-hour shifts I had worked were the most physically challenging experiences of my life and that other seasonals had told me that it usually took them two months on the job to get into AG shape. No response to that and I think they’re now afraid of me because the no sitting policy is a class action lawsuit waiting to happen.

        I’m over the hump now and surviving work OK. I’m in the best shape I’ve been in years but literally requiring employees to spend 9.5 hours a day on their feet is barbaric . I knew it was an issue, I knew it would be a challenge, but nothing could have prepared me for how hard it is to put in those kinds of hours with only 2 fifteen minute breaks and an unpaid lunch half hour as respite. I worked much harder at Firestone in the ’70s, but hard work was respected and if you got your work done, you were allowed long breaks and, of course, every second you worked over 8 hours was overtime. Also, I was making over $10 an hour in the ’70s, the same as I make now, minus benefits, minus union representation, and minus many laws protecting workers from arbitrarily punitive workplace policies.

      • Charles II said

        Thanks, Mark. Best wishes with the job.

        Funny thing. We had an epidemic of evaporation of a’s and t’s. Have no idea why.

      • Thanks for the wishes, and the e*iting may have been a job saver.

  2. Shirt said

    Polonium is readily available to cowardly psychotic governments; individuals, not so much.

    • Charles II said

      Actually, polonium is available in a number of commercial applications, and there’s plenty circulating around the old USSR. (Granted, one would probably not get it by disassembling static guards)

      The only government reasonably believed to have used polonium for assassinations is Russia. It’s hard to see why they would kill Arafat. But many governments could have done.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
