Mercury Rising 鳯女

Politics, life, and other things that matter

Ask not for whom the bell tolls

Posted by Charles II on March 15, 2015

Richard Lea and Caroline Davies, The Guardian:

The writer Terry Pratchett, who took millions of readers on a madcap journey to the universe of Discworld, has died aged 66.

The announcement came in typically irreverent manner on the author’s Twitter feed, with a series of tweets beginning in the voice of his character, Death: “AT LAST, SIR TERRY, WE MUST WALK TOGETHER.”

“Terry took Death’s arm,” the following tweet read, “and followed him through the doors and on to the black desert under the endless night.

“I rage at the imminent loss of my friend,” [Neil] Gaiman continued, “And I think, ‘What would Terry do with this anger?’ Then I pick up my pen, and I start to write.””

Old news to my co-bloggers, I suppose. I’m always last to know. But I wanted to say goodbye to one of my favorite writers.

4 Responses to “Ask not for whom the bell tolls”

  1. MEC said

    Like the hare, Terry ran into the fire, and was not burnt.

  2. For some light reading that really isn’t, I recommend his Monstrous Regiment.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
