Mercury Rising 鳯女

Politics, life, and other things that matter

Alexander the Great, 1998-2015

Posted by MEC on April 10, 2015

When I decided to get a kitten all those years ago, I kind of had an orange kitten in mind. But when I reached into the kitten cage at the shelter to pet the one orange kitten, it backed up and hissed at me. Then a scrap of an 8-week-old black-and-white kitten climbed up my arm, sat down on my shoulder, stuck his nose in my ear, and purred like a chainsaw. I was chosen.

I named him Alexander the Great because it took him about a week to conquer the Known World, i.e. my house and everything in it, including the senior cat.

He’s been my sweet boykitty for 17 years, which is a good long life for a cat. But old age is inexorable, and I wouldn’t want him to live longer if it meant being in pain.

Ave atque vale, Alexander. You were a CAT.

Alexander the Great

14 Responses to “Alexander the Great, 1998-2015”

  1. jo6pacjo6pac said

    Tears, sorry for your lost.

  2. Charles II said

    Thanks for the memorial, MEC. Having looked forward to your photos of Alex for so many years, I’ve been grieving your loss as well.

    Joy in the morning.

  3. notlurking said

    His pictures gave me hope and joy. RIP

  4. He and Lightfoot are ambushing each other as Sir Terry watches.

  5. So Alex jumped on your arm, climbed up to your shoulder, and purred?

    Sounds like how Millie picked out her human: http://www.backcountry.com/explore/my-climbing-partner-eats-chicken-liver

  6. Jane Gagle-Bennett said

    A beautiful tribute to a handsome cat – so sorry for your

  7. Good night, sweet prince. May flights of angels sing thee to thy resr.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
