Mercury Rising 鳯女

Politics, life, and other things that matter

The harvest

Posted by Charles II on July 26, 2015

The_Harvest-2015

These are actually the seconds and the ones that are still ripening. And they continue to pour in.

Thanks be to God!

4 Responses to “The harvest”

  1. jo6pacjo6pac said

    WOW, Charles they look great. I got such a late start this yr I don’t even have any green ones yet.

    • Charles II said

      I planted as early as I could, and suffered some weather damage as a consequence.

      I use Earthboxes, which deliver water and fertilizer almost perfectly–the only problem seems to be that the tomatoes grow so fast that they really need to be watered twice a day, which I can’t do, so some split.

      Another trick that seems to help is using 10% calcium chloride solution as a spray to prevent blossom rot.

  2. Mine are just starting to ripen.

    • Charles II said

      Gotta start as soon as one can after the last frost, and use well-rooted seedlings. Then you get most of the growth in before the bugs get going. Plus: Earthboxes. They do a lot to help rapid growth.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
