Mercury Rising 鳯女

Politics, life, and other things that matter

Big Night All Around

Posted by Phoenix Woman on September 14, 2010

Christine O’Donnell, the teabagger’s choice, won the Republican primary for Senator in Delaware, beating incumbent Mike Castle. She now faces Democrat Chris Coons, who is far more popular with normal humans (including Castle voters) than she is. The NRSC has already said that they will not support her and are pulling their money out of the race. Say hello to Senator Coons.

— Teabagger doofus Carl Paladino beat Rick Lazio in the Republican primary for Governor of the State of New York, thereby earning the right to lose to Andy Cuomo in November.

— A real Democrat and actual progressive, Ann McLane Kuster, beat Joe Lieberman’s presidential campaign co-chair Katrina Swett in the New Hampshire Democratic primary for the state’s second congressional district. If Charlie Bass loses the Republican primary, Kuster faces Jennifer Horn, who is a much weaker candidate.

— My Minnesota Twins won the first of three games in Chicago White Sox territory. They’re now seven games up on the White Sox and will almost certainly cruise to an uncontested pennant in a couple of weeks. Meanwhile, the Yankees and the Rays are still beating each other up much as the Twins, White Sox and Tigers spent the 2007, 2008 and 2009 seasons beating each other up. Life is good.

12 Responses to “Big Night All Around”

  1. Wege said

    Um, division title, not a pennant. The AL pennant is, sadly, out of the Twins’ reach.

    Sigh. Time for me to again go from being one of Minnesota’s most beloved librul bloggers (Uncle Wege to all the kids and kiddies out there), to being despised as a NY Yankees fan.

    I’m actually looking forward to this year’s World Series, Steinbrenner no longer being alive to suck the joy out of the Yankee’s winning ways for me.

    But I’ll be rooting for the local team again just as soon as the NBA starts up their new season. Go Wolves!

    • Sorry, Wege — even divisional races are called pennant races now. Honest.

      As for your being a Yankees fan, well, we all have our foibles, you Iowa lad you.

      • Wege said

        You’re misreading that story. They’re talking about a division race in the context of winning the league pennant. BUT I checked Wikipedia and they say the division races are also pennant races. Wikipedia, however, is not a great source for sports information so I turned to Google.

        I’ll agree you’re right when you can show me a picture of an MLB Division pennant. I couldn’t find one and still think there are only two pennants, one for each league.

        I am also considerably older than the Twins, who thoughtlessly weren’t around when I was picking a baseball team to root for in the ’50s. Not that it would have made any difference as the Vikings were well established when I became a Raiders fan in 1969. (I was slow to become an NFL fan because my Sunday afternoons were spent at the homes of elderly relatives who didn’t watch the games, but my Aunt Dutch was a Twins fan so I got to argue baseball with her.)

  2. Charles II said

    You’ve got a Dutch Aunt, ‘Wege?

    Is she the one who sets you on the straight and narrow?

    • Wege said

      Sadly Aunt Dutch has been gone for decades now, but she was half German, half UK-Irish-French-etc. No clue why everyone called her Dutch, but her real name was Arvilla.

      The family taught me Christian values but slipped up and gave them to me straight with no Bircher chaser. The lifestyle continues (despite serial violations of the third, fourth and seventh commandments).

      • Charles II said

        What, no graven images?

        BTW, I think the seventh and the tenth are part of a package deal. While it’s possible to break them individually, they are generally part of an economy bundle.

        Oh: and the epistles let you out of keeping one day holy, as long as you keep them all holy. To paraphrase Paul, “on which day should we be ungodly?” As per Romans 14:5-6

        One man considers one day more sacred than another; another man considers every day alike. Each one should be fully convinced in his own mind. He who regards one day as special, does so to the Lord. He who eats meat, eats to the Lord, for he gives thanks to God; and he who abstains, does so to the Lord and gives thanks to God.

      • Wege said

        I think I’ve committed adultery on the Sabbath enough times to qualify. As for graven images, I did worship David Byrne for a while in the early ’80s.

      • Charles II said

        No, the tenth is coveting one’s neighbor’s wife and/or maid servant (or ox/donkey if that’s how you swing).

        Coveting is step one in Old Testament adultery. A married man coveting an unmarried free woman or vice-versa was ok, assuming her father and brothers didn’t raise objections, but that was more a property issue. Nowadays woman’s liberation has ruined this cozy setup with sauce-for-the-gander modernity, which is yet another reason that fundamentalists prefer Old Testament law. But I digress.

        Since coveting is step one in adultery, it generally comes as a package deal. It sounds as if you’ve discovered a three-fer package deal on sin that I hadn’t even considered.

      • Wege said

        Actually, coveting is not a big part of adultery for me. I think the best descriptor in that regard would be “opportunity.”

      • Charles II said

        Well, ‘Wege, I can almost guarantee you that you aren’t gonna die with your boots on.

        I sure wouldn’t want to be your life insurance agent.

      • Wege said

        Life insurance? Is that anything like the health insurance I can’t get?

      • Charles II said

        Not exactly. With health insurance, your doctor gets paid off. With life insurance, it’s your mortician.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.