Mercury Rising 鳯女

Politics, life, and other things that matter

Now Obama’s Done It

Posted by Phoenix Woman on May 19, 2008

He’s said that he’s going to enforce anti-trust laws against big corporations, including media corporations:

“I will assure that we will have an antitrust division that is serious about pursuing cases,” the Illinois senator told an audience of mostly senior citizens in Oregon.

“There are going to be areas, in the media for example where we’re seeing more and more consolidation, that I think (it) is legitimate to ask…is the consumer being served?”

[…]

“We’re going to have an antitrust division in the Justice Department that actually believes in antitrust law. We haven’t had that for the last seven, eight years,” Obama said.

“Some of the consolidations that have been taking place, I think, may be anti-competitive.”

Obama advisers have also said he would crack down on any competition lapses in the energy sector that have resulted from big corporate mergers.

This is a shot across the GOP/Media Complex’s bow, folks. Obama has served them notice. Expect them to start amping up the nasty coverage of him from here on out.

4 Responses to “Now Obama’s Done It”

  1. MEC said

    My heart sank when I saw that headline. The media turned seriously ugly (instead of occasionally ugly) on Dean and Kerry after they said they were going to oppose media monopolies. Whatever small hope we might have had that the media wouldn’t be completely against Obama, he just tanked it.

  2. They’ve been going after him hammer and tongs anyway, and he’s still going to win. His internal polling is phenomenal from what I hear.

  3. MEC said

    So often lately, I think about all those polls that say people don’t care what a politician believes as long as the politician stands up for those beliefs. They want somebody who sounds “firm”. Well, that would be Obama. He doesn’t cower when attacked, he stands up, defends himself, and counterattacks. The latest example is his response to the Tennessee GOP:

    “The GOP, should I be the nominee, can say whatever they want to say about me, my track record,” Obama said. “If they think that they’re going to try to make Michelle an issue in this campaign, they should be careful because that I find unacceptable, the notion that you start attacking my wife or my family.”

    He called the strategy “low class.”

  4. Charles said

    At this point I think the public is coming to view the media as a common enemy, MEC. They might well rally to Obama the more as the media attack him.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.